I haven't made this recipe, but hailing from Malta, living in Malta, and being an avd cook I can say this: Neither Maltese Chicken nor rabbit is made with honey, however, Honey IS used in Maltese Main courses (i.e. Next time I will marinade overnight instead of just for a few hours to get more flavor in the chicken, but overall,a good recipe to play with. I grew up in Atlanta Georgia on a small farm. Consequently, most farmers welcome responsible rabbit hunters. However, we thought it overall lacked complexity. Takes some of us awhile to get it but I am so glad I finally asked her. No one dislikes this recipe. Serve and enjoy. You can also do this with chicken (of course), as well as quail. But today I used an older rabbit and it was a bit tougher and too salty. The forelegs will come out first, followed by the loin, and the hind legs will come out last. Fry gently -- you want a steady sizzle. Our most trusted Maltese Fried Rabbit recipes. This recipe immediately made my top 10 ways to prepare pheasant!!! This not a Maltese recipe. If you want to make tortellini filling, you’d want to braise the rabbit until the meat fell off the bone, then chop and shred. Brenda: Par cook them until they are tender first, then do the buttermilk fry. It's hard to find this dessert at bakeries, so it's often home-made by those who have carried their recipes throughout the generations. And so easy to make too! Don't shake off the buttermilk or anything, just leave it there. Yummy. This recipe deserves 5 stars because is really tasty and very easy to do. In a bowl with the rabbit pieces inside add the salt and pepper, mix well. When you are ready to fry, pour the oil into a large pan -- a big cast iron frying pan is ideal -- to a … Once rabbit is cooked and stock reduces more than half, take the rabbit out and add the butter in the pan and whisk well. A snowshoe hare will serve two, a cottontail and a squirrel just one. Western Newfoundland. Once hot add the rabbit piece by piece and l